SMART MUSEUM

Pushkin State Museum of Fine Arts

Сайт проекта

The Pushkin Museum 3D design platform created jointly by 3DreamTeam (2016) and Next.Space (2018) developers by the order of the Ministry of Culture of the Russian Federation.

3D detailed models of more than 20 buildings of the Pushkin Museum were created. Both the external structure and the interiors (floors and halls) of the buildings were recreated with elaborated details such us up the decorative elements: stucco, murals, surface texture.

The initial scope of the museum objects has been uploaded to the program database — both flat (paintings, graphics) and three-dimensional (3D models of sculptures, works of decorative and applied arts). Editor mode of the platform offers such functions as switching between air/ground view, day/night, removing levels/floors of the building, switching between object layers/sensors/light modes, building walls and partitions, forming high-quality screen shots and panoramic scans on the basis of the spaces.

Another operation mode of the program is the demonstration of the finished model and it can be used for presentations, various types of approvals, training, virtual walks. With the above said, Smart Museum 3D is a single tool for designing, training and project implementation that can be used by architects, artists, researchers, teachers, students and virtual museum visitors.

WE HAVE ACTUALLY DEVELOPED A CASUAL CAD SYSTEM. IT WAS VERY DIFFICULT TO MAKE IT SIMPLE AND USER-FRIENDLY FOR NON-TECHIES

ALEXANDER LAVROV

President of the VRARA Moscow Chapter, co-founder of the Augmented and Virtual Reality Association (AVRA)

How did you come up with this idea?

Project was started in response to the real need to plan the museum development during the construction of the Museum Quarter. When everyone accustomed to the interactive 3D museum model, new ideas started to come one after another. One of them was an online development of the exhibitions by curators from all over the world. Another one was to involve children from the Museyon Aesthetic Education Center as young curators. They could create their own exhibitions in a three-dimensional model based on the museum's collection and understand what it feels like to be a curator. We were lucky to have a huge number of digitized exhibits available by that time. All of them can be used for a three-dimensional model.

What was the most difficult thing in your project?

We have actually developed a casual CAD system. It was very difficult to make it simple and user-friendly for non-techies. Moreover, we had to keep to this approach all over, even in the smallest details. For example, the color set is performed as a paint palette. When the French curator started to drag-n-drop (move) paintings on the walls of the three-dimensional space without any prior training, we understood it worked out well.

Why do we need projects like yours? what is their value to people?

We wanted to involve society, namely, the museum staff, in the design process along with engineers and architects as much as possible. This is the only way to make the museum visitor-friendly. Children engagement in the work made it possible to create a museum for a new generation that will come to the Museum Quarter in 2025, and to boost the creation of a museum curators institution. At least, that's what we really want to believe in.

Go to Top

Smart Museum

ГМИИ им. А.С. Пушкина

https://pushkinmuseum.art/media/smart_museum

Платформа 3D-проектирования Пушкинского музея, созданная совместно с компаниями-разработчиками «3ДримТим» (2016) и «Next.Space» (2018) по заказу Министерства культуры Российской Федерации.

В формате 3D были созданы детальные модели более 20 зданий Пушкинского музея. Воссозданы как внешние объемы здания, так и внутренние пространства (этажи и залы) с детальной проработкой, вплоть до элементов декора: лепнины, росписей, фактуры поверхностей.

В базу программы выгружен начальный объем музейных предметов — как плоских (живопись, графика), так и объемных (3D-модели скульптур, произведений декоративно-прикладного искусства). При работе в платформе в режиме редактора используются такие функции, как смена уровня полет/земля, времени суток день/ночь, снятие уровней/этажей в здании, переключение между слоями предметов/датчиков/света, возведение стен и перегородок и формирование на базе пространств высококачественных снимков экрана и панорамных разверток.

Второй режим работы программы — демонстрация готовой модели — может быть использован для презентаций, различного рода согласований, обучения, виртуальных прогулок. Таким образом, Smart Museum 3D — это единый инструмент для проектирования, обучения и реализации проектов, который может быть использован архитекторами, художниками, научными сотрудниками, преподавателями, студентами и виртуальными посетителями музея.

Мы разработали по факту казуальную CAD-систему. Было очень сложно сделать ее простой и приятной в использовании для гуманитариев

Александр Лавров

президент VRARA Moscow Chapter, сооснователь Ассоциации дополненной и виртуальной реальности (AVRA)

Как вам удалось придумать свою идею?

Проект родился в ответ на реальную потребность планировать развитие музея во время строительства Музейного городка. Когда же все привыкли к интерактивному 3D-пространству музея, то начали рождаться новые идеи. Одна из них — разработка выставок кураторами со всего мира в онлайн-режиме. Другая — привлечение детей из Центра эстетического воспитания «Мусейон» в качестве юных кураторов. В трехмерной модели они могли создать собственные выставки на основе коллекции музея и прочувствовать, каково это — быть куратором. Очень удачным оказалось то, что у музея уже было огромное количество оцифрованных экспонатов. Все они могут использоваться в трехмерной модели.

Что было самым сложным в вашем проекте?

Мы разработали по факту казуальную CAD-систему. Было очень сложно сделать ее простой и приятной в использовании для гуманитариев. Причем этот подход пришлось сохранить везде, вплоть до мелочей. Например, палитра цвета сделана в виде палитры красок. Когда французский куратор без всякого обучения начал «дрэг-н-дропать» (перемещать) картины на стены в трехмерном пространстве, то мы поняли, что все у нас получилось.

Зачем нужны такие проекты, как ваш, в чем их ценность для людей?

Нам хотелось большой вовлеченности общества, в частности сотрудников музея, в процесс проектирования вместе с инженерами и архитекторами. Только так можно сделать музей дружелюбным для посетителей. Вовлечение детей в работу над проектом дало возможность создавать музей для нового поколения, которое придет в Музейный городок в 2025 году, и дать толчок к развитию института музейных кураторов. По крайней мере, очень хочется в это верить.

Go to Top